GUESTS REVIEWS

 

“Superb Stay!”

Reviewed 8 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Tartagli Bassi is a wonderful property well suited for 2 families or one large group.
It is located on the edge of the old town of Paciano and is a ten minute (if that) pleasant walk to the local bar and small Conad supermarket.
The drive way access can be tricky if in a larger car as its quite tight however you can turn further up the road and approach from a different angle if needs be.
The grounds are lovely and has a superb pool which is great for lengths as well as looking at the view at the far end. There are pool lounges at each end.
The grounds are well looked after and any questions we had were quickly answered or someone came up to show/help us.
The house is well appointed and the kitchen had plenty of crockery to sit a large group. The house has a rustic charm about it. The beds are comfortable and water pressure great in the showers.
The property is great for all ages and you can be separated from the apartment above if you wish. The first floor apartment has a great roof terrace which was lovely for breakfasts. We would highly recommend this property and hope to be back!
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
mc_robo York, United Kingdom

Level 2 Contributor , Trip Advisor

“Idillyc”

Reviewed 1 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Just back from second visit to Villa Tartagli Bassi in beautiful Paciano.
Perfect location with a lovely pool and so many glorious places to visit within driving distance.
This welcoming house is so comfortable with lots of quiet places in the house and garden if you want to be alone, as well as places where ten people can comfortably get together. We can’t wait to go back.
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
Rogerbutlerjcw, Reading, United Kingdom

Contributor , Trip Advisor

“Heavenly!”

Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Loved the welcome – practical, helpful and friendly. Leslie even bought us some essentials for the first night (on request). The location was perfect: five minutes from the village. I’ve never come across such a welcoming village before and there were several reasonably priced cafés and restaurants. The view from the pool was stunning and there were plenty of nice places to sit and admire the hillside and the sunset. The house was well-equipped and homely, with comfortable sofas and beds. We will certainly return and would recommend unreservedly.
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.
JoolsDarlington, Darlington

Level 3 Contributor, Trip Advisor

“Perfect Pool – Wonderful views. A week was too short!”

Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful week at Tartagli Bassi. The location is just fantastic, at the outskirts of this little Umbrian village, with panoramic views of the countryside. Waking up, stepping out on the balcony to enjoy the views and the fresh morning air was just amazing. The pool is excellent. It is long deep enough to dive in and long enough to go for a proper swim. It may be a bit too deep for the smallest toddlers, but my teenagers enjoyed it so much that we could hardly get them away from the pool area. Note that the house consists of two separate units, connected by an external staircase. This is good if you are two families, but perhaps a little awkward if traveling as one group. The furniture may feel a little simple (IKEA) / dated some places,, but works perfectly well for a rental. At the end of our week we were sad to leave and wished we could stay a few more days…

Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?   Yes.

JornBerg

Level 6 Contributor, Trip Advisor

“Lovely house in Umbria”

Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed a week in Tartagli Bassi and had a fantastic, restful time. The house has lots of space for a large group, and has everything you might need – from bottle opener to pizza oven. The pool is a good size, and while you have a dip you can see gorgeous views over Umbria. Both owner and manager were very helpful with information about the local area – and accommodating – nothing was too much bother. There are some lovely reasonably priced restaurants in Paciano itself and Panicale is a short drive for a pretty piazza and meal there. Would highly recommend.

marissa h

Level 1 Contributor, Trip Advisor

“A little bit of paradise”

Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This house was practically perfect. It is two floors (could be seen as two apartments) set a 5 minute walk away from Paciano. There are 3 double rooms and 2 twin. On the ground floor are a double with en-suite and a twin with a separate bathroom. There is a lounge area and kitchen / diner. Upstairs are the other bedrooms with 2 separate bathrooms. The upstairs area also has a balcony accessed from a lounge and one of the double rooms. It also has a small kitchen.

Pros of this house are numerous. Leslie is resident in Paciano and met us at the local bar to show us around the house and give us keys. She was the icing on the cake for this holiday. She was happy to make restaurant bookings (including organizing birthday cake) and helped book me into a local cookery day. She told us about the local bread shop and activities which were being held locally.

The view from the house is jaw dropping gorgeous. From the front of the house you can see the sun go down.

The house is well equipped. Plenty of plates / cutlery.

The house was services in the middle of our two week break. All the sheets changed and the house cleaned.

The pool was a good size. Deep at one end with an infinity edge over looking the view at the other. Nice place for a glass of wine s while the sun went down.

The washing machine worked well. Plenty of outdoor space around the whole propery.

I think the thing that made this place so good was that we were a party of 9 people, 3 families. The house layout was such that you could always find your own piece of house / garden. There are seated areas all the way around the outside so you can always find sun or shade.

Each bedroom had a central fan so sleeping was easy. In fact there were nights when I was cold!

The cons – are few and far between. The dishwasher was rubbish and we ended up either half filling it or not using it al all. And the only other thing I could think of would be the chairs by the pool were a little tired and only two of the could be used to lie flat on (which meant we had to keep swapping about while we were sun bathing). That’s it!

The local town was lovely. Awesome view from the bar of the lake. Little shops open mornings and evenings to buy bread from. 3 restaurants in walking distance. Easy access to main road.

The last 20 / 30 metres to the property from the road is quite steep so anyone with walking difficulties might find this last part back from town a struggle.

Would not hesitated to recommend this place. The peace and quiet were just perfect.

mi1by

Level 5 Contributor, Trip Advisor

“Family and Friends…6 adults”

Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Rented villa to celebrate a retirement with adult children and family friends.
I cannot say enough about how lovely this home was.. it was conveniently located in a section of Umbria very close to Tuscany. You got to experience living in a lovely rural setting yet you were close to a variety of medieval hill towns; the location is less than an hour from Orvieto, Pienza, Montepulciano and Sienna …day trips were easy.
We also had two cooking classes, one in the house with Tonino, which I highly recommend, and in another we spent a day cooking at Il Fontanara which is in Paciano. I also cannot say enough about the manager of the house who lives in Paciano..Leslie…she answered every question and was filled with wise advice both before we arrived and once we were in Paciano. Diana, the owner, was also very quick to reply to questions and give advice as needed when we were setting up the booking.
Paciano itself is a small medieval little hill town within walking distance of the house..the setting itself is beautiful…as a bonus we had a huge fig tree outside the kitchen which happened to have ripe figs when we were there. The large kitchen makes eating as a group easy.

sweens15

New Contributor, Trip Advisor

“Umbrian Idyll”

Reviewed 21 Aug 2016

We had an great stay at Tartagli Bassi in Paciano. The house had lots of space for 10 adults – two families with grown up kids – providing plenty of indoor and outdoor communal area or hideaways, comfortable bedrooms and more than enough bathrooms and showers to go round. The main kitchen had everything we needed and there was always the spare one upstairs just in case – the second fridge certainly came in useful. The large dining table had splendid views and shade if you wanted it. One of the highlights was watching the sun go down from the first floor terrace with a pre-dinner drink, second only to enjoying the view of the Umbrian countryside from pool. Paciano is a lovely walled town and the 5-10 minute walk from the house meant we could leave the cars and have a few drinks at its small but good quality selection of friendly restaurants and bars. We were lucky enough to be there for the Paciano August festival with bands and entertainment in the town square. We also played tennis at the well looked after local court (6 or 8 euros an hour) when it cooled down. Trips out included Panacale (by foot), Perugia, Assisi and a night in Orvieto on the way back – all recommended. If we needed any help or advice, Leslie was brilliant – only a call or text away – many thanks.

Peter

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer, Holiday Lettings

“Peace, quiet, views that leave you speechless”

Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Extremely well located villa, comfortably furnished and fantastic grounds (AKA olive groves), with a view from almost everywhere.
The pool is a delight, again with a great view!
The owner is responsive and the local manager, Lesley is extremely helpful and friendly. It really is like home from home.
If you can drag yourself away from the tranquility, the beautiful town of Pacino is a short walk, with a few lovely restaurants and cafes. Panacale, which is just sublime, is a 30 minute walk or 10 minute drive, and again, some good eateries in historic surroundings.
There is plenty to do in the area around the villa, but you may find yourself just kicking back and enjoying your temporary home too much to stray too far!
Oh and did I mention the views? And the sunsets? And the night sky?
Go, you won’t be disappointed!

marlowbilly

Level 6 Contributor, Trip Advisor

“A bit of Paradise in Umbria”

Reviewed 14 Nov 2015

Diana’s House. Tartagli Bassi. Paradise. All the same phrases. We spent two glorious weeks here with friends joining us from time to time. Really two houses in one – an upstairs with three bedrooms and a kitchen and deck and a downstairs with two bedrooms and a great sitting room and large kitchen and dining area. There is a pool on site which is a great place to watch the Umbrian sun settle into the evening (or you could go to that upstairs deck!) Amazing support from the community and Leslie who ensured our stay remained trouble-free. We used the pizza oven two separate nights – making our own pizza, had one of Paciano’s finest – Tonino – give us all a cooking lesson, the list is endless. Great starting point for excursions to Sienna, Orvieto, and Perugia. Or you can just rest there – so many nooks and crannies inside and out to read a book, feel the sun on your face or carry on a great conversation. If you are looking for a great stay, this is the place.

A verified reviewer

on Holiday Lettings from Anchorage, Alaska, Holiday Lettings